Skip to Accessibility Tools Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Is Goat Milk Considered Dairy-Free?

There are two types of protein found in dairy: casein and whey. Casein tends to be the more inflammatory of the two, and why more people struggle with casein-rich dairy.

There is, however, little to no “A1 casein” in goat milk. It still contains whey, so it’s not fully dairy-free, but goat milk would be the best option to re-introduce first after an elimination diet (as you may tolerate this far greater than other dairy options).

This article represents the opinions, thoughts, and experiences of the author; none of this content has been paid for by any advertiser. The team does not recommend or endorse any products or treatments discussed herein. Learn more about how we maintain editorial integrity here.